Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-10-02 - 8:46 p.m.

NOT SO SLICK

You would think after ten years of being together, Matt would be able to figure me out as well as I can read him, right? WRONG!!!!!!!!! Not to dump on all of you man types out there, but seriously dudes, you all can be so transparent and stupid sometimes.

My dad scored a pair of Penn State football tickets for this Saturday's game. Go dad! It also happens to be homecoming weekend in Happy Valley, so there will be numerous activities to enjoy both before and after the game, and I am assuming (I hope correctly) that these activities will be centered around an array of alcoholic beverages.

My dad called with the info last night while I was sleeping and after the call Matt woke me up and said "your dad has the tickets, but he said it's up to you and me to fight it out over who gets to go." Fight? What fight? MY dad, hence MY ticket. End of discussion.

Fast forward to this afternoon when my phone rings and my caller ID lists LaPorta's (a florist) as the party on the other end of the line. I didn't get the phone quick enough and the machine picked up and the LaPorta's person did not leave a message. I thought it was a wrong number until a man called back about an hour later and asked if someone would be home between 4:00 and 4:15 p.m. as they had a delivery for me.

I was a bit confused as to who would be sending me flowers as it's not my birthday or any kind of special occassion. Today, however, happens to be my brother and sister-in-laws anniversary and I thought that maybe Gregg had sent Terri some flowers and maybe somehow the LaPorta's guy just pulled up the wrong address off of the computer, as we all have accounts there.

But, no he said, he had the right person and the right address. I asked him to read me what the card said and he said that it was simply signed "because I love you...." Hhhmmm.

Matt got home from work shortly thereafter and this is the conversation that proceeded:

K: Honey, are you having flowers sent to me today?

M: Yes. (Big smile) If they aren't here yet, how do you know?

K: The LaPorta's guy called to see if I'd be home.

M: What a jackass! That kind of ruins the surprise. Sorry.

K: Why are you sending me flowers? It's not my birthday or anything.

M: Well, just because I wanted to.

K: Yeah, bullshit. You're trying to sweeten me up so I give up my ticket to the game on Saturday!

M: (laughing) I wouldn't do that! (still laughing)

K: You bastard! You've never had flowers delivered to me for no reason...ever. Not once in the last ten years and suddenly I have at ticket to the Penn State game and you want to go and I get mystery flowers and you think I don't know why?

M: Shit!

At this point the delivery guy rings the bell and hands me a beautiful arrangement of roses. I put them on the kitchen table, gave my husband a kiss and said "Honey, these are beautiful. Thank you so much for thinking about me today. I'll be thinking about the beautiful roses that I will see sitting on the kitchen table when I walk in the door on Saturday after seeing the Penn State game. Thanks again!"

Matt is still protesting, saying that he was not trying to be underhanded or sneaky and that he was just doing something nice. Uh huh, go sell it somewhere else mister....I'm going to Happy Valley!!!!!!!

Winds of Change - 2004-10-03
I'M EDDIE'S GIRL - 2003-10-05
NOT SO SLICK - 2003-10-02
I HAVE PMS....NEED I SAY MORE???? - 2003-10-01
GUESS WHO ALMOST CAME TO DINNER? - 2003-09-06

she said - she says

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

/BODY>